Unexpected Blessings

19 07 2012
I have always wanted to volunteer abroad, but I never expected to be given an opportunity like this one.  Coming to Copán Ruinas, I was a little unsure and nervous about this adventure ahead of me.  Could I really make a difference in these children’s lives?  Would I be able to adjust to a new culture and language?  I was not sure what exactly to expect, but I have come to find a beautiful place with beautiful people that I am able to call my home this summer.
I am currently working at Camp Joy with an amazing staff, youth, and kids.  I have been given the task of being the cooking teacher along with my lider joven, Gaby.  At first, I wondered how exactly I would be able to touch children’s lives in a cooking class, but I have been pleasantly surprised.  As we “travel around the world” this summer and make foods from different countries, I was just hoping I could put a smile on the kids’ faces and allow them to see different kinds of foods.  I think that Gaby and I have accomplished this so far, but I never expected the kids to pick up these recipes so quickly and use them at home.
In the first week of camp, I had a girl named Maria come up to me so excited to tell me about how she and her cousin made “lassis” from India at home.  She repeated back the words I had told her in class about altering the recipe how they desired.  She is always so quiet in class, but she was the first to come up to me and share about how she used what was taught in class at home.
The next week a little girl named Isa was sitting with me at snack time.  We stayed at the table a little longer than everyone else as she talked and talked to me about her weekend.  She told me about her grandma’s birthday party and how she surprised her grandma by making the “Oreo Balls” we had just made in class.  She was so excited to tell me she had made this dessert and that her family loved them so much.  Isa continued to tell me just how fantastic all her classes were:  art, discovery class, and Bible class.  She said, “They were all so fantastic!”
While I may just be cooking food with the kids, I also have the opportunity to give them skills for their lives.  I have been so touched by their smiles and laughter, but what an unexpected blessing to know they are actually using what they are learning.  As UPH seeks to give these children the skills to better their lives, I feel so blessed to be a part for even a short time to see them learn, grow, and simply enjoy being children this summer.
-Ashlan Allison

Actions

Information

Leave a comment